Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


High School News

Sub Navigation


Home > breadcrumbs: High School > breadcrumbs: High School News >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

Story image 1_0

Brokaw FFA Members Compete in Sub-District Leadership Events

            Twenty-eight Brokaw FFA members of Clarinda recently competed in twelve Career Development Event areas at the Sub-District level at Shenandoah High School on Wednesday, February 7.  All speaking contest areas from the Brokaw FFA Chapter advanced on to the district level. The following members competed in the following events, with their placing in parentheses: Bradlie Wilmes, Bryn Morgenstern, Ethan Herzberg, Dagen Price, Alex Baker, and alternate Jordan Van Gundy in the Parliamentary Procedure event (Gold- 1st); Lanie Garrett, Anna DeGroot, Kristen Smith, Ryane Stipe, Madelyn Pulliam, Jalyn Sharr, and Tanley Bebout in the Conduct of Meetings event (Silver- 1st); Joslynn Williams in the Ag Sales event (Gold- 2nd); Hunter Crawford, Paige Sunderman, and Abbie Guthrie in the Chapter Program of Activities contest (Gold- 1st); Taylor Wedemeyer in the Radio Broadcasting event (Gold- 2nd); Sadie Graham in the Public Speaking event (Gold- 2nd); Kari VanNostrand in the Creed Speaking event (Gold- 3rd); and Austin Gutknecht in the Extemporaneous Speaking event (Gold- 1st). Freshmen members also participated in the Greenhand Quiz event, with Tanley Bebout, Anna DeGroot, Shayla Harris, Kari VanNostrand, and Lanie Garrett receiving Gold ratings; Kristen Smith, Madelyn Pulliam, Jalyn Sharr, Ryane Stipe, and Carter Larson receiving Silver ratings; and Blaine Coston receiving a Bronze rating. Brett Robberts and Brady Williams participated in the Farm Business Management test with Robberts receiving a Gold rating and Williams receiving a Silver rating. Austin Wagaman competed in the Arc Welding contest and Caleb Nordyke competed in the Oxy-Acetylene Welding contest, with both receiving Bronze ratings.

            Because each speaking contest area placed in the top three at Sub-District competition, those members have advanced in their respective contests to district competition that will be held at the Southwest District Convention at Panorama High School in Panora on March 3.  Members who place either first or second in their contest areas at the district level will compete against others from the other five FFA districts in the state of Iowa at the State FFA Leadership Conference in Ames on April 23-24. 


Caption for picture: Brokaw FFA members competing at Sub-District contests at Shenandoah on February 7 included, front row, left to right: Anna DeGroot, Lanie Garrett, Jalyn Sharr, Shayla Harris, Kristen Smith, Dagen Price, Brady Williams, Sadie Graham, Paige Sunderman, Bradlie Wilmes, Jordan VanGundy, Bryn Morgenstern, Abbie Guthrie, and Austin Gutkneckt. Back row, left to right: Kari VanNostrand, Tanley Bebout, Ryane Stipe, Madelyn Pulliam, Hunter Crawford, Alex Baker, Ethan Herzberg, Blaine Coston, Joslynn Williams, Taylor Wedemeyer, Austin Wagaman, Brett Robberts, Caleb Nordyke, and Carter Larson. 

Back To Top