Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


High School News

Home > breadcrumbs: High School > breadcrumbs: High School News >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

Story image 1_0

Brokaw FFA Members Compete in District Leadership Events

Twenty-three Brokaw FFA members of Clarinda recently participated in Career Development Events at the Southwest District FFA Convention held at Panorama High School on Saturday, March 3.  These members moved on from sub-district contests in February as a result of being in the top three in their respective contest areas.  Chapter members competed in eight different speaking events, two quiz events, three proficiency areas, and one officer book event. The following members competed in the following events at the district level with their placings in parentheses: Bradlie Wilmes, Alex Baker, Ethan Herzberg, Dagen Price, and Bryn Morgenstern in the Parliamentary Procedure Contest (Gold, 1st- Advance to State); Paige Sunderman, Hunter Crawford, and Abbie Guthrie in the Chapter Program of Activities contest (Gold, 1st- Advance to State); Taylor Wedemeyer in the Radio Broadcasting contest (Silver); Lanie Garrett, Tanley Bebout, Ryane Stipe, Jalyn Sharr, Madelyn Pulliam, Kristen Smith, and Anna DeGroot in the Conduct of Meetings contest (Gold, 1st- Advance to State); Joslynn Williams in the Ag Sales contest (Gold, 3rd- Alternate to State); Sadie Graham in the Public Speaking contest (Gold, 1st- Advance to State); Austin Gutknecht in the Extemporaneous Speaking Event (Gold, 1st- Advance to State); and Kari VanNostrand in the Creed Speaking contest (Silver). Freshmen Greenhand members participated in the Greenhand Quiz contest with Tanley Bebout, Anna DeGroot, and Kristen Smith receiving a Gold; and Blaine Coston, Madelyn Pulliam, Jalyn Sharr, Ryane Stipe, and Kari VanNostrand receiving a Silver. Brett Robberts and Brady Williams competed in the Farm Business Management Quiz event with Brady receiving a Silver rating and Brett receiving a Gold rating and 1st place.

Paige Sunderman and Taylor Wedemeyer submitted the Reporter’s Scrapbook for review at the district level.  The chapter scrapbook received a Gold rating and was named Alternate to State. Former Brokaw FFA member Annie Wallin helped conduct the Southwest District FFA Convention as part of her duties as the Iowa FFA State Reporter for the 2017-2018 school year. Annie helped conduct the business session and the general session in which awards were handed out and new officers were elected for next year. Brett Robberts and Brady Williams served as delegates during the business session and voted to elect the 2018-2019 Southwest District officer team.

Proficiency applications were judged at the district level as well. The FFA Proficiency Award program recognizes members with outstanding SAE projects in numerous agricultural areas. Brokaw FFA Chapter members Hunter Crawford, Austin Gutknecht, and Sadie Graham completed proficiency applications with all receiving a Gold rating and 1st place at the district level. Hunter’s application was in the Wildlife Production and Management area; Austin’s application was in the Ag Mechanics Repair and Maintenance area; and Sadie’s application was in the Beef Production area. All three proficiency applications advanced on to the state level for judging.

            All five leadership speaking contest areas that advanced above from the district level will compete against members from chapters out of the other five FFA districts in the state of Iowa at the State FFA Leadership Conference held in Ames on April 23-24. 


Caption for the picture: 

Brokaw FFA members participating at the Southwest FFA Convention held in Panora on March 3 included, front row, left to right: Kristen Smith, Anna DeGroot, Jalyn Sharr, Lanie Garrett, Kari VanNostrand, Abbie Guthrie, Jordan VanGundy, Bryn Morgenstern, Austin Gutknecht, Bradlie Wilmes, Sadie Graham, and Paige Sunderman. Back row, left to right: Brady Williams, Brett Robberts, Madelyn Pulliam, Tanley Bebout, Ryane Stipe, Alex Baker, Ethan Herzberg, Hunter Crawford, Joslynn Williams, Dagen Price, and Taylor Wedemeyer.

Back To Top