Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


High School News

Home > breadcrumbs: High School > breadcrumbs: High School News >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

Story image 1_0

Honor Band

Congratulations to the 19 Clarinda High School students selected to the 50th Annual Southwest Iowa High School Honor Band.  Auditions took place on Saturday, December 9th at Atlantic High School.  Each student prepared two etudes and their major scales and then auditioned for a pair of judges.  There are two bands, one made up of 9th and 10th graders and one with 11th and 12th grade students.  Each band has approximately 80 students of the highest caliber from Southwest Iowa area schools.


The honor band takes place on Monday, January 15 at Atlantic High School.  Students will spend the day rehearsing and will then present a concert at 7:00 PM in the high school auditorium.  As the current Southwest Iowa Bandmasters Association President, Courtney Ridge, Clarinda’s high school band director, will conduct the 9-10 band at the festival and Scott McAllister, a teacher and renowned composer from Texas, will conduct the 11-12 band.  In addition, Mr. McAllister has been commissioned to compose a piece for the 11-12 band in honor of its 50th year.


Students selected:


Kateri Baldwin (11) flute; Ash Baumli (12) trumpet; Ethan Baumli (9) trombone, *Hunter Crawford (12) euphonium, Anna DeGroot (9) mallet percussion; Samantha Eberly (10) clarinet; Jayden Eickemeyer (10) flute; Jordan Fasnacht (9) euphonium; Aya Hamanaka (11) oboe; Ethan Herzberg (10) bari saxophone; Cloe Holmstrom (10) French horn; Riley Holmstrom (10) trumpet; Jenna Nelson (10) clarinet; Morgan Pruitt (10) trumpet; Aiden Shatava (9) trombone; Jennifer Sics (12) flute; Madeline Sics (10) French horn; Lauren Tunnicliff (11) bassoon; Eben Wulbecker (10) trumpet


*Six-year selection (made it in grades 7-12)

Back To Top