Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


200 Series

Home > breadcrumbs: District Office > breadcrumbs: Board Policies > breadcrumbs: 200 Series >


Ajax Loading Image



Code No.  202.2

Board members are officials of the state.  As a public official, each board member must pledge to uphold the Iowa and the United States Constitution and carry out the responsibilities of the office to the best of the board member's ability.

Each newly-elected board member will take the oath of office prior to any action taken as a school official.  The oath of office is taken by each new board member elected at the school election at or before the organizational meeting of the board.  In the event of an appointment or special election to fill a vacancy, the new board member will take the oath of office within ten days of the appointment or election.

Board members elected to offices of the board will also take the same oath of office but replacing the office of board member with the title of the office to which they were elected.

The oath of office is administered by the board secretary and does not need to be given at a board meeting.  In the event the board secretary is absent, the oath is administered by another board member.

"Do you solemnly swear that you will support the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the state of Iowa, and that you will faithfully and impartially to the best of your ability discharge the duties of the office of                                (naming the office) in                                  (naming the district) as now and hereafter required by law?" 

Legal Reference:          Iowa Code §§ 277.28; 279.1, .6 (2009). 

Cross Reference:          200.1   Organization of the Board of Directors

                                    201      Board of Directors' Elections

                                    202      Board of Directors Members

                                    204      Code of Ethics

                                    206      Board of Directors' Officers

Initially Approved 03-08-1999                              Last Reviewed 03-23-2009                                      Last Revision                   

Back To Top