Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


High School News

Home > breadcrumbs: High School > breadcrumbs: High School News >


Ajax Loading Image


Brokaw FFA Members Excel at 90th Iowa State FFA Leadership Conference

  Twenty-six Brokaw FFA members of Clarinda along with advisor Andy Johnson and chaperones Kasey Herzberg, Mindy Bebout, and Deron and Kathy Stender, recently attended the 90th Iowa State FFA Leadership Conference held April 23-24 at the Iowa State Center in Ames, Iowa.  Members were involved in numerous activities throughout the convention that helped develop leadership and teamwork skills.

            All members attending competed in nine different Career Development Events at the conference.  The Parliamentary Procedure team, Public Speaking contestant, Chapter Program team, Extemporaneous Speaking contestant, and Conduct of Meetings team competed at the state level after moving on from the sub-district and district levels. The Parliamentary Procedure team, consisting of Ethan Herzberg, Bryn Morgenstern, Bradlie Wilmes, Alex Baker, Dagen Price, and alternate, Jordan VanGundy, received a Gold rating and placed in the top five in the state. The Conduct of Meetings team, consisting of Madelyn Pulliam, Jalyn Sharr, Tanley Bebout, Lanie Garrett, Ryane Stipe, Anna DeGroot, and Kristen Smith received a Gold rating and was named State Runner-Up. The Chapter Program team, consisting of Hunter Crawford, Abbie Guthrie, and Paige Sunderman, received a Gold rating and was named State Champion. Austin Gutknecht competed in the Extemporaneous Speaking event receiving a Gold rating and was also named State Champion. Sadie Graham competed in the Public Speaking event and received a Silver rating. Kristen Smith and Tanley Bebout competed in the Greenhand Quiz contest, with both receiving a Silver rating.  Taylor Wedemeyer, Brett Robberts, and Brady Williams competed in the Farm Business Management event, earning a Bronze rating. Joslynn Williams participated in the Chapter Display event, earning a Gold rating and a top ten finish in the state. Finally, our Ag Sales Team competed in the Ag Sales CDE, receiving a Gold rating. The team consisted of Lane Mellencamp, Cooper Williams, Brodee Means, and Ethan Jones. Hunter Crawford, Sadie Graham, and Austin Gutknecht become the fourth, fifth, and sixth members of the Brokaw Chapter to qualify for the state level all four years of their high school careers in an FFA Leadership Career Development Event.

            Brady Williams and Brett Robberts served as delegates for the business session held and also voted for next year’s state officers.

            Hunter Crawford and Sadie Graham received a Gold rating and Austin Gutknecht received a Silver rating in state competition for each of their proficiency award areas that moved on to the state level from district competition. The proficiency award program recognizes members for their outstanding SAE projects in over 40 different areas. Hunter was named State Champion in the Wildlife Production and Management proficiency area; Sadie was named State Runner-Up in the Beef Production Entrepreneurship area; and Austin competed in the Ag Mechanics Placement proficiency area.

            Two Brokaw members received their Iowa FFA Degree, which is the highest degree bestowed upon a member at the state level. Those members were Brett Robberts and Brady Williams.

The Brokaw Chapter was recognized as a Supreme National Chapter with a Gold rating and an eighth place finish in the state in this award program.  The National Chapter Award program is based on activities conducted in the areas of Growing Leaders, Building Communities, and Strengthening Agriculture.  This marks the twelfth year in a row that the Brokaw FFA Chapter has finished with a Gold rating in the National Chapter Award program with the application moving on to the national level. The WHO/Public Relations Award was also presented to the Brokaw Chapter for its efforts in promoting the Food for America program in the local elementary school.

Former Brokaw FFA member Annie Wallin served the 2017-2018 school year as the Iowa State FFA Reporter and was an integral part of the proceedings at the State FFA Leadership Conference. Annie was featured as one of the First Session Chairpersons and gave an inspiring retiring address during the Second Session titled, “The Joy Will Always Triumph.”

            Other activities members were involved in included attending general sessions, where awards were handed out and speakers gave motivational and educational speeches to the members.  Speakers included Iowa Secretary of Agriculture, Mike Naig; Governor of Iowa, Kim Reynolds; and keynote speaker Mandy Harvey, who was featured on the hit television show, “America’s Got Talent.” Members also attended leadership workshops and the career show as well.


Captions for pictures:
Brokaw FFA Chapter Program of Activities team members (second from left) Paige Sunderman, Abbie Guthrie, and Hunter Crawford were named the State Champion team.
Brokaw FFA member Austin Gutknecht was named the State Champion in the Extemporaneous Speaking competition.
Brokaw FFA chapter members attending the 90th Iowa State FFA Leadership Conference included, front row left to right: Lanie Garrett, Dagen Price, Brady Williams, Austin Gutknecht, Kristen Smith, Ryane Stipe, and Anna DeGroot. Second row, left to right: Bradlie Wilmes, Jalyn Sharr, Paige Sunderman, Jordan VanGundy, Abbie Guthrie, and Alex Baker. Third row, left to right: Tanley Bebout, Bryn Morgenstern, Taylor Wedemeyer, Joslynn Williams, Sadie Graham, Hunter Crawford, and Ethan Herzberg. Fourth row, left to right: Madelyn Pulliam, Cooper Williams, Brodee Means, Brett Robberts, Ethan Jones, and Lane Mellencamp.
Former Brokaw FFA member Annie Wallin give her retiring address as the Iowa FFA State Reporter at the 90th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference.

Back To Top