Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


High School News

Home > breadcrumbs: High School > breadcrumbs: High School News >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

Story image 1_0

FFA Members Attend District Conference

Each year Southwest District and Iowa FFA officers plan and facilitate Greenhand Fire-up Conferences for FFA members in the Southwest District. Atlantic High School welcomed 334 members from 29 FFA chapters from all over the Southwest District on October 11.


While at Greenhand Fire-up, district and state officers led four interactive workshops for first year high school FFA members, also known as Greenhands, for the annual Greenhand Fire-up Conference. The workshops facilitated were leadership focused with an emphasis on the experiences that occur in the lives of beginning high school students.


Southwest District FFA President, Caleb Finnegan, stated, “Greenhand Fire-Up provides a chance for first-year members to get a sneak peek of the opportunities that FFA holds, and is a conference for members to meet and interact with state and district officers.”


The officers prepared and facilitated workshops of: authenticity, balancing priorities, communication, and FFA opportunities – in order to provide the first-year FFA members with skills they would use both within and outside of FFA. The goal was to engage FFA members in learning about the tools that would allow them to be successful in anything they are part of through high school and beyond.


Former Brokaw FFA member and current Iowa FFA Reporter, Annie Wallin, helped organize the leadership program and facilitated the workshop titled, "We are FFA! Discover Opportunities in FFA and SAE!"


Brokaw FFA members participating in the conference included Lanie Garrett, Shayla Harris, Carter Larson, Blaine Coston, Madelyn Pulliam, Jalyn Sharr, Tanley Bebout, Kari Van Nostrand, Anna DeGroot, and Kristen Smith.



Caption for picture: Brokaw FFA members attending the Southwest District Greenhand Fire-up were, front row, left to right: Kristen Smith, Jalyn Sharr, Lanie Garrett, and Kari Van Nostrand. Back row, left to right: Madelyn Pulliam, Tanley Bebout, Shayla Harris, Carter Larson, Blaine Coston, and Anna DeGroot.

Back To Top